BEAUTY

Birchbox Product Review: ModelCo Fibre LashXtend Lengthening Mascara

Happy Tuesday HTS Readers!  It’s time for another installation of As you learned last week, I throw about $120 a year away on beauty product samples that come in a really cute box wrapped in fun-colored tissue paper.  It’s totally worth it – especially when the sample products are FULL SIZED!  This month’s box o’ fun included a full sized ModelCo Fibre LashXtend Lengthening Mascara.  Let’s talk about it!

I go back and forth between buying fancy mascara (I’m currently on a Benefit – They’re Real! kick) and picking up whatever’s on sale at the drugstore (my cheapy of choice being Maybelline Lash Stiletto).  Sometimes I feel like treating myself, and sometimes I feel like WHY DO YOU NEED TO SPEND $20 ON MASCARA???   ModelCo Lengthening Mascara runs $24, and if I’m in a spendy mood, I’d definitely consider it.

As far as lengthening mascaras go, this one doesn’t lie.  The little fibers go on very smoothly to give your lashes little stilts and they don’t clump up – what more could you ask for? A tiny mirror on the side of the case that you can use when you apply the product?  OK!  It’s yours!! My mirror got pretty messy sitting in my make up bag, but if you’re a cleaner person than me – enjoy!

Lengthening, no clumping AND a tiny mirror!  What else?  You want volumizing?  Well… then you’re out of luck.  Maybe you can go into 7 or 8 coats and see some extra umph, but the usual 3 that I slap on just made my lashes more Snuffleupagus-ey, but not much fuller.  Oh well.  You live and learn.  You forgive and forget.  You do other cliche-sounding things that don’t apply to make up.  Finally, at the end of the day, you take that shit off.  No problems here.  All of that black goop ended up in the sink and not on my pillowcase.  Done and done.

Bottom line – if you’re looking for longer lashes, this isn’t a bad mascara.  Could you find something comparable for cheaper?  Yes.  Could you find something at this price point that does more?  Yes.  Do you wish you hadn’t wasted your time on such a wishy washy review?  Only you can answer that.

Stay tuned for next Tuesday’s review – Stila All Over Shimmer Liquid Luminizer

Leave a Reply

